02 October 2014

PRIZE: Sarton Medal for Legal History (Ghent University) for Prof. em. dr. J. Monballyu

 (George Sarton; image source: UGent Memorie)

The Sarton Committee at Ghent University, devoted to the History of Science sensu lato, has decided to attribute the medal for Legal History for the academic year 2014-2015 to Prof. em. dr. Jos Monballyu (KULeuven), on proposal from the Law Faculty. The Sarton Chair yearly commemorates George Sarton (1884-1956), alumnus of Ghent University, professor at Harvard University, chemist and historian.

Past Sarton medallists for the Ghent Law Faculty include Randall Lesaffer (Tilburg/KULeuven), Anne Lefèbvre-Teillard (Paris II Panthéon-Assas), Emmanuele Conte (Roma III), Heiner Lück (Halle-Wittenberg), Robert Feenstra (Leiden), Fred Stevens (KULeuven), Raoul Van Caenegem (UGent), Laurens Winkel (Rotterdam), Sean Patrick Donlan (Limerick), Serge Dauchy (Lille-2), Ditlev Tamm (Copenhaguen), Jean-Louis Thireau (Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne), Alain Wijffels (UCLouvain) or Jürgen Weitzel (Würzburg).

Prof. Monballyu will be handed the medal on Thursday 16 October 2014 in the Ghent Law Faculty (aud. NB III, 4-6PM). At this occasion, a laudatio will be pronounced, as well as a lecture, entitled "Overcoming the First World War and the Rule of Law" (In Dutch: "De Rechtsstaat en zijn verwerking van de Eerste Wereldoorlog").

The Legal History Institute at Ghent University cordially invites all persons interested in the history of law as a science to attend Prof. Monballyu's lecture. RSVP:

No comments: