02 July 2018

ESCLH CONFERENCE: New Executive Council/Advisory Board elected

(Opening session of the 5th Biennial ESCLH Conference, 28 June 2018; source: Dr. Matt Dyson)
The ESCLH General Assembly closed an exciting 5th Biennial Conference. Our members elected Matt Dyson (Oxford) as new President, thanking Aniceto Masferrer Domingo (Valencia) for eight years of reliable stewardship. Vice-Presidents: Mia Korpiola (Turku), Annamaria Monti (Bocconi Milano) and Philipp Hellwege (Augsburg). Frederik Dhondt (Brussels/Antwerp) becomes Director of Communication, succeeding Dirk Heirbaut (UGent). Aniceto Masferrer, honorary President, becomes head of the advisory board, succeeding Kjell Åke Modéer (Lund).
A proposal from Lisbon is under investigation for the 2020 6th Biennial Conference.
Shavana Musa (Manchester) was awarded the 2018 Van Caenegem Prize for best article written in Comparative Legal History by a young legal historian. The article ("Victims of maritime conflict, compensation claims and the role of the admiralty court in the early modern period", 5 CLH 125) can be read here.
Murat Burak Aydin (MPI Frankfurt) won the Springer Poster Competition.

No comments: