30 March 2013

AWARDS: Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History Awards

The Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History administers three awards. 

The deadline for each of these awards for 2013 is April 30.

John T. Saywell Prize for Canadian Constitutional Legal History

The Saywell Prize is made possible by the generosity of his familyand friends, to recognise the outstanding contribution to Canadianpolitical and legal history of Professor Saywell. Among his otherwork Professor Saywell is the author of The Law Makers: JudicialPower And The Shaping of Canadian Federalism, published by theOsgoode Society in 2002.The Saywell Prize is given bi-annually to the best new book inCanadian legal history, broadly defined, that makes an importantcontribution to an understanding of the constitution and/orfederalism. In exceptional circumstances, the jury could alsoconsider a seminal article or series of articles, some of the latternot written in the two-year period, to satisfy the objectives of the award.
The Saywell Prize will next be awarded in 2013, for a book publishedin 2011 or 2012. The deadline for nominations for 2013 is April 30,2013. Please email nominations to  GOTOBUTTON BM_1_

R. Roy McMurtry Fellowship in Legal History

The R. Roy McMurtry Fellowship in Legal History was created in 2007,on the occasion of the retirement as Chief Justice of Ontario of theHon. R. Roy McMurtry. It honours the contribution to Canadian legalhistory of Roy McMurtry, Attorney-General and Chief Justice of Ontario, founder of the Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal Historyand for many years (and currently) the Society's President.The fellowship of $16,000 is to support graduate (preferablydoctoral) students or those with a recently completed doctorate, toconduct research in Canadian legal history, for one year. Scholarsworking on any topic in the field of Canadian legal history areeligible. Applicants should be in a graduate programme at an OntarioUniversity or, if they have a completed doctorate, be affiliated withan Ontario University.The fellowship may be held concurrently with other awards forgraduate study. Eligibility is not limited to history and lawprogrammes; persons in cognate disciplines such as criminology orpolitical science may apply, provided the subject of the researchthey will conduct as a McMurtry fellow in Canadian legal history. Theselection committee may take financial need into consideration.Applications will be assessed by a committee appointed by the OsgoodeSociety for Canadian Legal History.
Those interested in the 2012 fellowship should apply by sending afull c.v. and a statement of the research they would conduct as aMcMurtry fellow to Marilyn Macfarlane, McMurtry Fellowship SelectionCommittee, Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History, Osgoode Hall,130 Queen Street West, Toronto, M5H 2N6. The deadline forapplications is April 30, 2013.

Peter Oliver Prize in Canadian Legal History

The Peter Oliver Prize in Canadian Legal History was established bythe Society in 2006 in honour of Professor Peter Oliver, theSociety's founding editor-in-chief. The prize is awarded annually forpublished work (journal article, book chapter, book) in Canadianlegal history written by a student.Students in any discipline at any stage of their careers areeligible. The Society takes a broad view of legal history, one thatincludes work in socio-legal history, legal culture, etc., as well aswork on the history of legal institutions, legal personnel, andsubstantive law.Students may self-nominate their published work, and faculty membersare also encouraged to nominate student work of which they are aware.Those nominating their own work should send a copy of it to the Society.
The deadline for nominations for the 2013 Prize, to be awarded forwork published in 2012, is April 30, 2013.Please send nominations to Professor Jim Phillips, Editor-in-Chief, Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History, Osgoode Hall, 130 QueenStreet West, Toronto ON M5H 2N6, or by email to

No comments: