21 April 2018

BOOK: Rafael DOMINGO and Javier MARTÍNEZ-TORRÓN, eds., Great Christian Jurists in Spanish History [Law and Christianity] (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2018). ISBN 9781108428071, £ 84.99

Next month, Cambridge University Press will publish a book on great Christian jurists in Spanish history. The book can be pre-ordered here.


The Great Christian Jurists series comprises a library of national volumes of detailed biographies of leading jurists, judges and practitioners, assessing the impact of their Christian faith on the professional output of the individuals studied. Spanish legal culture, developed during the Spanish Golden Age, has had a significant influence on the legal norms and institutions that emerged in Europe and in Latin America. This volume examines the lives of twenty key personalities in Spanish legal history, in particular how their Christian faith was a factor in molding the evolution of law. Each chapter discusses a jurist within his or her intellectual and political context. All chapters have been written by distinguished legal scholars from Spain and around the world. This diversity of international and methodological perspectives gives the volume its unique character; it will appeal to scholars, lawyers, and students interested in the interplay between religion and law.


Rafael Domingo, Emory University, Atlanta
Rafael Domingo is the Spruill Family Research Professor at Emory University, and ICS Professor of Law at the University of Navarra in Spain. A specialist in legal history, legal theory, ancient Roman law, and comparative law, he has published more than 20 books, including The New Global Law (Cambridge, 2011) and God and the Secular Legal System (Cambridge, forthcoming).

Javier Martínez-Torrón, Complutense University, Madrid
Javier Martínez-Torrón is Professor of Law at Complutense University, Madrid. He is vice-president of the section of canon law and church-state relations of the Spanish Royal Academy of Jurisprudence and Legislation. His scholarly writings include 22 books and have been published in 23 countries and in 13 languages.


Introduction Rafael Domingo and Javier Martínez-Torrón
1. Isidore of Seville Philip Reynolds
2. Raymond of Penyafort José Miguel Viejo-Ximénez
3. Alfonso X Joseph F. O'Callaghan
4. Francisco de Vitoria Andreas Wagner
5. Bartolomé de Las Casas Kenneth Pennington
6. Martín de Azpilcueta Wim Decok
7 Domingo de Soto Benjamin Hill
8. Fernando Vázquez de Menchaca Salvador Rus
9. Diego de Covarrubias y Leiva Richard Helmholz
10 Luis de Molina Kirk R. MacGregor
11. Francisco Suárez Henrik Lagerlung
12. Tomás Sánchez Rafael Domingo
13. Juan Solórzano Pereira Matthew C. Mirow
14. Gaspar Melchor de Jovellanos Jan-Henrik Witthaus
15. Francisco Martínez Marina Aniceto Massferrer
16. Juan Donoso Cortés Jose María Beneyto
17. Concepción Arenal Paloma Durán y Lalaguna
18. Manuel Alonso Martínez Carlos Petit
19. Álvaro d'Ors Rafael Domingo
20. Pedro Lombardía Alberto de la Hera and Javier Martínez-Torrón.

For more information, see the publisher’s website

No comments: